This remarkable region located at the convergence of the two rivers Spree and Dahme in the south-east city of Berlin. The borough of Koepenick is well recognized for “Hauptmann von Koepenick”, the famous pretender. Koepenick, was previously called as Copanic, followed by Copenick. In the year 1931, it was only then that the spelling, which is currently used, was made official. Koepenick was already an independent town before it was merged into Berlin in 1920. Consisting of an area of 49 square metres, Koepenick is considered as the largest borough in Berlin. With the union of Kropenick and Treptow in the 2001 administrative reform of Berlin, a new borough was formed, which is called Treptow-Koepenick.
Koepenick’s area is mostly covered with forests and water, and the famous Muggelsee Lake. Located right at the heart of Berlin’s Urstromtal meltwater valley where the rivers Spree and Dahme flow together, no wonder that the significant town is always rich and abundant with water. Meanwhile, before the Spree was converged, the Schlossinsel rests on the Dahme, which is a small island where the Koepenick Castle is located. Koepenick, together with Muggelsee, and the city centre of Berlin are connected by the Spree. On the other hand, the Dahme, is linked by the Oder-Spree Canal at Schmöckwitz and the Eisenhüttenstadt in the other river. Through this, a traversable connection between Koepenick and the Oder is made possible.
Known as the “green lungs” of Berlin, the famous Muggelberge hills located in the south-eastern part of Koepenick which extends to a height of 377 feet is the highest natural summit of Berlin.
Established as an independent town even before the convergence in Berlin in 1920, Koepenick had a significant history way back then. Initially indicated in a 1237 deed, the town was regarded as older than Berlin-Colln.
In the event of the Thirty Years’ War in 1631, Koepenick, used to be the place where the ambassadors of George William, the Elector of Brandenburg and the army of the King of Sweden, Gustav Adolph met, in an attempt to stop Brandenburg’s destruction.
Wilhelm Voigt, a shoemaker who impersonated a Prussian officer, ruled Koepenick in the year 1906. In the famous play entitled “The Captain of Koepenick”, Carl Zuckmayer demonstrated the episode. The play serves as a model for a number of Der Hauptman von Koepenick films as well as television shows.
A large radio service for MW and FM was built in 2002. It is situated close to the vicinity of Uhlenhorst, which incorporates a 248 metre self-radiating radio post. Furthermore, its services were transferred to the Fernsehturm found at Alexanderplatz, while the AM transmitters were relocated to Zehlendorf bei Oranienburg.
In 1558, the Koepenick castle was created as a hunting lodge by Joachim II Hector, the elector of Brandenburg. The castle was in a renaissance design. It is situated on the island river, which used to be the place of the previous medieval fort. In 1571, the elector died here. In 1631, it became the headquarters of King Gustavus Adolphus of Sweden. In 1677, Frederick I of Prussia renovated the castle. In 1730, the crowned Prince Frederrick II of Prussia and Hans Hermann von Katte, stood infront of the court martial for the abandonement at Schloss Koepenick. At present, the castle is encircled by a small park, which functioned as a decorative art museum.
With its affluent history, significant industrial monuments, vibrant places filled with shops, restaurants, culture and entertainment, and a combination of a breathtaking scenery of flourishing landforms and the rivers, canals, and lakes; Koepenick is definitely a place one should visit.